Review – Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl.jpg

Hello Internet. Welcome back for Review #33. Squeee! This book is adorable. The characters are so interesting, and I almost want to go up and hug some of them! Ahh, nerdy love stories. They make me smile.

Fangirl: (fan·girl). Verb. To obsess, relate to and bond over a fandom/piece of popular culture in a way which could be described to be like that of a pre-pubertal girl fawning over something.

This is, basically, what I do. I mean, legitimately. Have you listened to me talk? Hang on, stupid question. Have you seen me rant on and on about something I surely shouldn’t be talking about (i.e. any fandom ever)? Of course you have. Now, this wasn’t the reason I picked up this book, however. Well, not the only reason. It may well have been some of the reason. Most of it. OK, fine. The only other reason I picked up this book was that the author had the first name “Rainbow”. What? No, I’m not actually a girl inside. Well, maybe I am a little feminine…

Never the matter. On to the book. And stars and stones, this book encapsulates every aspect of fandom life which I have found so hard to describe to people outside fandoms. The feeling you get at 10:30 at night when you pull your X-wing bedsheets up to cover your TARDIS pyjamas whilst your day clothes (a Hero of Breath t-shirt and red converse shoes with a blue jacket embroidered with a logo from the Charles Xavier school for Gifted Children) lie disregarded on the floor, as you stare up at an Iron Man-armour blueprint poster, pouring over a Ruby Rose/Weiss Schnee fic you found on AO3. It’s hard to describe.

And it’s a love story! It’s OK, everyone in a fandom! There is hope! You too can end up with a boyfriend who is amazingly, stunningly hot. I mean, seriously, the sun shines from this love interest’s smile. Wait a sec, let me give you a five-second version of the premise. Cather (one half of two twins) is a fangirl of a [insert Harry Potter proxy here]. She goes to college, and the twins decide to get different rooms. You know it from there. Girl meets boy. Girl and boy fall in an awkward form of love. And constantly, girl is taking fiction-writing classes and writing her massive-following fanfics online. Tension happens. It’s a tried-and-true formula, with a new spin in the form of exploring the parallels between the love story happening on Cather’s pages (she’s a shipper!) and the one she’s experiencing.

And it’s glorious. It’s a geeky, goofy love-rock-song of a story, one which warms the very cockles of my black heart, and makes me wish one day I’ll be able to score with the big-timers like Cath did with Levi (well, I’d probably go for a chick, but it’s the 21st century. Seriously, I feel like the internet loves gay people more than actual gay people do). The style Rowell uses is something which is light and delicious enough for me to wish that it came on top of lemon tarts, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t rave about this book to all of my friends and then some random people I met on the street. It’s just something you can get behind and like, and that’s priceless.

Fangirl was published in 2013 by St. Martin’s Press. It can be found on Amazon here.

Yours: J.M. Pear

Review – Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

One thought on “Review – Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Comments are closed.